About the Trophy

Prince Henrik Silver Trophy

The idea for this Trophy started from a conversation between HRH Prince Henrik of Denmark and Mr. Lowell Chang of Hong Kong. HRH Prince Henrik, besides having been trained as a French diplomat, is a keen and able yachtsman, and fluent in many languages including written and spoken Chinese. Therefore the idea is to have Interport Yacht Team Racing between Nations in order to promote good fellowship and understanding between sailing people from different parts of the world.

prince henrikThe Trophy is donated by Harboes Brewery and Lowell Chang in honour of Prince Henrik of Denmark and shall be called the Prince Henrik Silver Trophy. The Trophy shall be kept until the next round by the winning team of a friendly competition among representatives of invited clubs.

The invitation to participate is to be in agreement with HRH Prince Henrik or His Heirs. The competition shall be hosted by the invitees in rotation, and only internationally recognized one design keelboats shall be used. The order of rotation and the design to be used shall be mutually aggreed by all the invitees, failing that, at the discretion of HRH Prince Henrik or His Heirs. The host club shall decide on the number of yachts per team but the number shall not exceed 5. The host club shall issue the Sailing Instructions in accordance with current internationally accepted racing rules.

The host team shall rotate its own team at least once to enable more participation by members of the host club and to reduce home water advantages.

The first invited clubs are Royal Danish Yacht Club, Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club and Royal Yacht Squadron. The first competition is hosted by Royal Danish Yacht Club in June 1988, the auspicious year of the Dragon in the Chinese Calendar, and in International Dragon Class Yachts.

Let it be so recorded at the base of the trophy.

Won 1988 by R.H.Y.C. in Rungsted.
Won 1989 by KDY in Hong Kong.
Won 1990 by R.Y.S. in Cowes.
Won 1991 by KDY in Rungsted.
Won 1992 by R.H.Y.C. in Hong Kong.
Won 1994 by KDY in Arcachon.
Won 1996 by C.V.d’Arcachon in Cowes
Won 1997 by KDY in Hong Kong
Won 1999 by KDY in Rungsted
Won 2001 by C.V.d’Arcachon in Arcachon
Won 2005 by KDY in Cowes

The 2014 Prince Henrik Silver Trophy is organized by Marselisborg Yacht Club in conjunction with Sailing Aarhus and Royal Danish Yacht Club and is supported by the City of Aarhus.